2 Comments

C.G Powell

Via Smashwords.com author page: As a teen C.G. Powell was selected as a member of her school’s newspaper staff. After her first article the editor decided the darkroom was a more suitable place for her skills…or lack of. Since then, she has traveled everywhere—thanks to her innate curiosity about the world and the Navy. In her life time, she has learned: aviation electronics, CCNA networking, Gemology and how to get bloodstains out of the carpet (you never know when you might need that). But her latest, all-consuming, endeavor is storytelling. When asked why, her response was “I live to challenge myself; I like to be pushed outside of my comfort zone and writing is one of those things that pushes my boundaries. Besides it was the only way to share all of the crap bouncing around in my head!”

Tonight, I had the pleasure of chatting with Christine. It was the first time she and I sat down and talked for any length of time though we are both part of H.P Mallory’s writing group. To be honest, I was feeling particularly low tonight as Messy Death is giving me a few plot problems, but Christine was quick to have my back. When I told her how raw I was, she said, “You have to ask yourself ‘do I want to write a novel’ and if the answer is yes then do it with reckless abandon!” Sometimes, the simplest advice can be the most uplifting. When she said that, I had to smile at the light switch that went off in my head. Writing is a personal, self satisfying endeavour that is for the author and his or her characters alone. We give our imagination voice and that voice makes us happy. If you’re writing only to publish and please others, your missing the bigger picture. Your story will suffer and readers will turn from your page as they sense the utter lack of author whimsy.

As a first time author of the novel, Spell Checked, I assure you Christine has no problem weaving a great story full of romance and the aforementioned whimsy. I thank her for her time and words of wisdom. Here is a blurb from her book now available on www.smashwords.com

Spell Checked by C.G Powell~ What would you do if you found out that vampires and witches really do exist and they aren’t exactly what you think they are? Maelin wanted nothing more than solitude,her best friend thought otherwise when she booked them on a tour of Ireland. Mae finds herself unexplainably attracted to the very man who brought her to Ireland under false pretenses and learns that witches and vampires exist.

If you’d like to get to know Christine better, here are some ways to get in touch:

http://twitter.com/#!/CGPowel

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=835875575

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/CGPowell

Here is a direct link to her book also available on smashwords.com

https://www.smashwords.com/books/search?query=c.g+powell

2 comments on “C.G Powell

  1. Thank you so much Jennifer, for the fantastic shout out!!! You rock too! Now write something great, your characters want to know what will happen next 🙂

  2. I LOVE that comment about writing with reckless abandon! Thanks for sharing this Christine and Jennifer! I can’t wait to read Spell Checked 🙂

What are your thoughts?

