3 Comments

Serious thoughts on Series

      In the book world, it’s all about the series right now. Maybe it always has been, but this thought gave way to the question: are the days of a stand alone novel gone? I know plenty of authors who write singles under the guise of series. Karen Marie Moning has the Highlander series. There’s Michele Bradsly’s Broken Heart Vampires and Gena Showlater’s Alien Huntress series just to name a few.

     These are all great books, and I love that the worlds are not strictly told from one character’s POV, but I miss reading a good old stand alone, ya know? When I started reading solely for the pleasure of doing so (back in middle school), I started with L.J Smith’s Secret Circle. (Yes, the CW is making a show based on these YA novels as well.) From there, I discovered Christopher Pike who wrote  both singles and series. Eventually, I got very involved in Nancy Holder and Debbie Vigie’s Wicked series.

     I’m not going to lie and say I am not partial to series, but the rebel in me thinks it’s time for a change. Stand alones need to make a comeback. When I sit down to plot a story, I shouldn’t have that knee-jerk, how-can-I-make-this-a-series reaction. Readers shouldn’t expect things like: first in a series slowness, second bookitus, a deterioration and disgust point and the ‘this series should’ve ended forever ago; why is it still going’ confusion. But sometimes, if the series is good all the way through, we experience that lump of final book sadness and it is PRICELESS. 

     I don’t want to put the series out to pasture just yet, but as an author and avid reader I’d love to experience a market flooded full of stand alones.

3 comments on “Serious thoughts on Series

  1. The picture is from Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. It’s my favorite “stand alone” novel. 🙂

  2. I happen to love series! As a matter of fact, I am not likely to pick it up if it is a stand alone. I get invested in the characters and their stories. Even if we don’t follow the same character in the second book i LOVE to see them in the peripherals.

  3. I can think of a few recent stand alones that I’ve read. “Tooth and Claw” by Jo Walton, “Remnant Population” by Elizabeth Moon and “Flightless Falcon” by Micky Zucker Richert. All Three authors also have great series too. I might not have picked them up though if I hadn’t read the stand alones first to know that I like the author.

    I do hope the stand alone isn’t dead. Half of the novels I’m writing are stand alones. I always start that way. Sometimes the world alows for more.

What are your thoughts?

