3 Comments

Wenona Hulsey

 Blood Awakening, a Paranormal Romance/ Urban Fantasy (Nicole Kennan Series Prelude) (The Nicole Kennan Series)Burden of Blood

Author Wenona Hulsey is a lover of all things written. When she was a child, you could find her reading anything from Edger Allen Poe to the back of cereal boxes. Today you will find her with an ebook reader glued to her hands except for the times when she is writing or spending time with her family.She is also an avid social networker who loves to meet new people.

Wenona and I have bumped into each other more than a few times online. We are proud members of a writers group I will not mention for fear of being stoned. (Yes, I’ve met almost all these fabulous authors in this group, but I know some of my readers might be sick of hearing it, so I’ll refrain. For now.) We didn’t have the normal back and forth conversation I’m accustomed to as she is a very busy woman, but somehow we found time to talk about things that truly matter.

Hot guys….no wait…that wasn’t it. LOL. Writing. It was definitely writing we talked about. Not hot guys. Sheesh.  Who talks about that anymore, right? We’re not in high school anymore. *Blushing guiltily*

Moving on. 🙂 Because I was so impressed with LK Rigel’s short story suggestion, I decided to see how Wenona felt about it as her current novel, Blood Awakening, is a short that introduces her character’s friendship “before a centuries old grudge and Nicole’s emerging powers rip them apart.”  

Blood Awakening was a surprise project for me,” she admitted easily. “I never planned on writing a short story, but near the end of Burden of Blood Nichole looks at a picture of her and Kat taken on a beach. It made her think back to a time when her life was simple and fun. That’s the moment I got the idea to do Blood Awakening.”

I’ve been toying with the notion of writing a short, (not for Messy Death though) so I was curious about what going into a novel that was considerably less than 80,000 words felt like. Was it all back story or did it just play out naturally? “It developed really fast on it’s own.” Wenona explained. “I had the idea for the beach weekend but wrote the whole story without any outline. My characters told me what they wanted to do and I went with it.”

“LK Rigel hinted that epubing was slightly addictive,” I typed with a twinkle in my eye. “Do you find that to be true?” 

“It did give me a major rush to release my first story to the world. There is a mix of walking on cloud nine and walking on pins and needles those first few days. Then when you start to get feedback from readers saying they loved your story you get a renewed sense of determination to write an even better story the next go around.” Reading Wenona’s answer only confirmed what I already felt tingling in my author soul. 

Completion. There can’t be anything better than seeing your hard work wrapped in a beautiful cover that has your name printed on it! As excited as I am to join those ranks someday, I always feel a twinge of regret for not partaking of the euphoria sooner. Thankfully, it’s usually followed by a shot of pure determination, and if I happen to be particularly broody that day this mantra distracts me from wallowing:

I will finish a novel. I can finish a novel. I’m going to finish a novel. I will finish a novel. If I don’t finish a novel, people are going to be asking me about it FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE! OMG. I have to finish a novel. I have to finish a novel. Yeah, you get the idea. It’s not pretty.  

Obtaining that addictive ‘just finished a book’ high was not the only fact Wenona confirmed for me. As we chatted, she explained that no matter how you get published, traditionally or epub, being an author is hard work. “You still have to fight to keep your name floating around and every spare second is spent promoting. Unless you land one of the top ten publishers.”

“Which is totally easy to do,” I replied, nonchalantly slipping a noose over my head. “So I’m not worried. Not. One. Bit.”

“I don’t want anyone thinking writing a great book is all you’ve got to do,” Wenona shot back. “That is just step one of the journey.” I couldn’t help sighing at this. Everything’s a freaking journey, isn’t it? Why can’t we just have a muse that sings all day every day, produce rock star manuscripts with barely any effort and land the perfect agent/publishing house on our first query? (Basically, why can’t we all be Stephanie Meyer. Lucky…)  

Of course, Wenona wasn’t privy to that inner rant, so she addressed my actual question which revolved around what to do if your muse is giving you the silent treatment. “When my muse refuses to focus, will walk away from my story for a day. I do other things so I’m giving my mind a break. If after that day a great idea for the next chapter hasn’t popped into my head, I will go back and reread a few chapters to get back into the feel of what things were building up to. There have been those times where I wake up in a half awake, half dreaming state and have the greatest scene playing out in my head. Those are my favorite Muse and me moments.”

Wouldn’t that last part make a cute blog title? My favorite Muse and Me moments. Hmmm…. LOL.

Speaking of favorite muse moments, Wenona must’ve had a lot of them because the girl has two books out and both sound like wicked good fun. Here are the blurbs:

Blood Awakening~ Nicole, a small town Alabama girl, and her best friend Kat take a weekend trip to Panama City, Florida. Kat looking to have a good time and Nicole hoping to escape the pain of losing her mother for a little while. Little did Nicole know, the escape would awaken a ancient power that is hidden in her blood. A power that evil wants for its own and will do whatever it takes to have it.


This short story is a look into best friends’, Nicole and Kat, life before a centuries old grudge and Nicole’s emerging powers rips them apart. A power that Nicole wants no part of as it brings her to her knees and forces her to walk away from her small town life and everyone she loves.

And the continuation of Nicole’s story:

Burden of Blood~ No one wants to know everyone’s darkest secrets, especially not police officer, Nicole Keenan. All she wants is a blissfully normal life in the small, Alabama town where she was born. But as generations of power running through her veins start to wake up, an ancient grudge is ignited that threatens to push her over the edge. She can hardly believe in what she is, let alone that a dark force will not stop until she’s joins them. Or is dead. Nicole Keenan’s life enters into a dangerous dance with warriors and gothic fairies. Southern tradition collides with Irish folklore as she learns about love, heartbreak, and The Burden of Blood.

You can track down Wenona Hulsey at any of the links below.

http://www.facebook.com/?sk=inbox&ref=mb#!/wenona.hulsey

http://www.amazon.com/Wenona-Hulsey/e/B005BYI2U0/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

http://twitter.com/#!/WenonaHulsey

http://wenonahulsey.blogspot.com/

I’m also including a direct route to her book, Blood Awakening. Thanks for coming to meet another wonderful author friend. Wenona, I wish you a ton of success, but most importantly I wish you a ton of easy-to-come-by success. LOL.

http://www.amazon.com/Awakening-Paranormal-Romance-Fantasy-ebook/dp/B005BQY68A/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1312901246&sr=8-3

3 comments on “Wenona Hulsey

  1. Wonderful interview. I love how both of your personalities shines through and the humor is fantastic. Very well done. I look forward to reading Wenona’s work. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Thanks so much for having me on Jennifer! It was so much fun!!

What are your thoughts?

