3 Comments

Nichole Chase

 

 

     Nichole Chase is the author of Mortal Obligations, first in The Dark Betrayal Trilogy. We met through H.p Mallory’s online writing group which, as you know, is where I meet nearly every awesome writer out there!

Here is Nichole’s author blurb via Smashwords.com~

     Nichole Chase is a daydreamer. No, really, just ask any of the math teachers that had the misfortune of seeing her name appear on their class schedule. For years she has had story lines and characters begging for attention, but she resolutely pushed them aside to focus on more normal (read, boring) jobs. Well, no longer! She is currently heeding the voices in her head and frantically writing their stories. Nichole resides in South Georgia with her husband, energetic toddler, three dogs, and two cats. When not devouring novels by the dozens, you may find her writing, painting, crafting, or chasing her daughter around the house while making monster noises.

     Mortal Obligation came to Nichole in a funny way. As she was driving, all the things that inspire her: scenery, music and random thoughts came together and formed a curious picture in her head. While driving through Savannah’s historic district, Nichole could almost see a young, blonde woman crossing the downtown square. This girl was moving quickly, but she looked back, across the street, with determination in her eyes. “I had to know what was going,” Nicole told me.

     Being that you’re probably as intrigued as I was, my reply should come as no real surprise. “Totally!” (Yes. I am Jennifer; the master wordsmith. LoL. ) 

     After I wowed Nichole with my literary prowess, we talked about plotting. The conversation was short. LOL. You see, Nichole’s outspoken characters aren’t big on back seat driving. They prefer to steer their stories ship and Nichole is fine with that. She usually has a few scenes as well as major plot lines scripted, but the rest is up for grabs. Doing this and being absolutely comfortable with it is the mark of a great writer. I’ve only recently let go of some of my panster hang-ups, but it’s still something of a struggle. Insecurities. Ugh. What a female-dog-in-heat!

     When I asked Nichole to tell me, honestly, how intimidating epubing was, she didn’t hold back. “It’s terrifying but very worthwhile. Epubing helped me finish Mortal Obligation because I wasn’t worried about all those traditional steps anymore.” Again, I found myself agreeing with Nichole. Finishing a book is huge, but it is only one rung in the publishing ladder. Next there’s editing, querying and sloshing through formed rejection letters oh my! 

     Though I have chosen to go the traditional route with Messy Death, I’m not looking forward to all the BS that comes after The End. Still, there is A LOT to epubing and the biggest thing is also the hardest. Technology. Nichole gave me some insight into the rigmarole behind epubing. “I spent 12 frickin hours trying to format and it still came out wrong. Seriously, I almost went bald trying to figure it out.” I laughed while assuring her I’m relatively slow in that department as well.

     “I can’t even figure out how to use my Kindle. I had to have my author friend, C.G Powell, walk me through downloading her book off smashwords.com.”

     “I live in a black hole of missing time,” Nichole typed sympathetically. “Every time I sit down to do something, it disappears then I have to move on to something else.” These sort of mishaps make me wonder if the computer really is mightier than the pen? Writing an idea down on paper comes with its own perils, but rarely do you jot something down only to have it vanish before your very eyes. Not that invisible ink doesn’t exist, but far as I know it’s not readily available outside the CIA or Hogwarts.

     Nichole is currently working on Mortal Defiance the second book in her Dark Betrayal Trilogy. Things are going well, but like me she’s finding it a tish difficult to harness creativity, or a complete thought, with a toddler running amuck. It’s not easy being super author mom though from where I sit she’s doing a damn good job. Nichole Chase, you are the poo on my walls! (Inside joke.) 

     Curious about Mortal Obligation? Well, you’re in luck because I’m including the blurb and a link to its amazon page. It’s only .99 cents so, really, what the hell do you have to lose by checking it out? Notta! Without further ado…

Ree will face the darkest form of betrayal before the year is out.

Seventeen year old Ree McKenna has three goals: get through high school, convince her crush she is more than his best friend’s little sister, and save money for college. Fate, though, has other plans for her. After the untimely death of her older brother, Ree is haunted by dreadful nightmares and terrifying visions. To make matters worse, Ree has started to suspect that something dangerous is stalking her from the shadows.

A night full of frightening surprises leaves Ree with unsettling news. Gifted by the gods with unusual powers, she must devote herself to a battle that could very well lead to not only her death, but the demise of everyone she knows and loves. After all, Ree is the only mortal standing between the Earth and utter darkness.

Set in Savannah, Ga, Mortal Obligation is the first book of The Dark Betrayal Trilogy.

As promised, here is the amazon link. http://www.amazon.com/Mortal-Obligation-Betrayal-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B005F9YGN8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1316215677&sr=8-1

If you’d like to follow Nichole Chase beyond this blog, here are the links that will help with that.

http://www.nicholechase.com

http://twitter.com/#!/NicholeChase

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/NicholeChase

http://nicholechase.blogspot.com

http://www.facebook.com/#!/nicholechase.author

3 comments on “Nichole Chase

  1. Beautiful Post! I love your cover and do hope you find the time to continue the trilogy even with the toddler running around.

    This is going to be one of my first reads when i make it back to my bookshelf so I’ll more than likely be anxious for the next!

    Best of Luck!

  2. Don’t worry, Lisa. Mortal Defiance will be out in December, with book 3 to follow in March!

    Thanks for having me Jennifer! I had a lot of fun chatting. 🙂

  3. Wonderful interview. Well done both of you!!

What are your thoughts?

