Leave a comment

1,675 Words!

Today was a very productive day. I’ve been so preoccupied with Thanksgiving plans that I’ve let my writing lapse a bit, but as of today I’m back in the saddle again. I promise to leave another teaser this weekend as this one will be shorter than I wanted. Until then…enjoy!

“Wait,” I held up a hand. “Are you telling me you can’t investigate any of this until somebody finds proof that I’m connected to more than my assault?” Detective Easter toyed with his mug before answering. It was an awfully shy act for somebody with the power to ignore an entire complaint.

“It’s complicated, but the gist of it is this; I can file this report at which time, because of lacking concrete connections, a human violent crimes detective will investigate only your assault. Because the main suspect has possible non-human origins, somebody from my division, me, could be brought in to help.”

“Could be?” I asked.

          “Technically, they don’t need to involve me or any other PPD detective until the suspect’s origins are proven to be non-human. At this point, it falls under our jurisdiction.” His shoulders lifted then fell in defeat. “It’s not the news you were hoping for I’m sure.” His law enforcement logistics were too confusing to address, so I stuck to the simpler questions.

“You’re acting like you don’t want me to file this report. Is that what’s going on here?” Detective Easter took a deep drink of coffee, looked me dead in the eye then puckered his face.

“Kinda.” He said. My jaw dropped open. Fury poured into every muscle making them as rigid and as a corpse suffering the ill effects of rigamortis. Before I could go all banshee on his ass, Detective Easter’s lips dipped into a rueful frown.

What are your thoughts?

