4 Comments

Switched by Amanda Hocking

Switched (Trylle Trilogy)

Amanda Hocking is an indie publishing sensation whose self-published novels have sold millions of copies all over the world, and Switched is the book that started the phenomenon.

That being said, I will admit to you a precious and most guarded secret. Earlier this year, about the time Amanda got picked up and started making big-time press, I wasn’t doing that great in the discipline department. Which is to say, I had no dailies. I was held accountable to no one including myself and had sort of a dismal outlook on my writing future.

For this reason, I passed on reading Amanda’s Trylle novels. Well, that’s not entirely accurate. Mostly it was the green-eyed monster. It had such a tight grip on my throat I actually had to stop and wonder: if I suffocate to death will it be suicide or murder? It’s hard for me to say that her accomplishment made me feel so awful. It’s a vulnerable thing; standing in front of people and admitting that I have a petty, spiteful streak, but don’t we all to some extent?

Does it have to be a bad thing? Four months ago, I would’ve said yes. Today, I don’t think so at all. We cannot pick and chose what we acknowledge about ourselves. Creative people, or at least the ones I’ve met, are vastly self-aware. Some are a tish more self-deprecating than others, but all in all we have to reach deep to write real.

If you’re not on the level, chances are your words ring hollow. Amanda Hocking’s words do not ring hollow at all. I haven’t finished her book, the first in the Trylle series, Switched yet, but “truth is truth till the end of reckoning.” (A little Shakespeare never hurt anyone. Although he sort of had a thing for hurting his characters didn’t he? Sorry. I digress… back to the point.) Her prose is fast, concise, solid and most assuredly entertaining.

Switched Book Blurb~

When Wendy Everly was six years old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. Eleven years later, Wendy discovers her mother might have been right.  She’s not the person she’s always believed herself to be, and her whole life begins to unravel—all because of Finn Holmes.

Finn is a mysterious guy who always seems to be watching her.  Every encounter leaves her deeply shaken…though it has more to do with her fierce attraction to him than she’d ever admit.  But it isn’t long before he reveals the truth:  Wendy is a changeling who was switched at birth—and he’s come to take her home.  

Now Wendy’s about to journey to a magical world she never knew existed, one that’s both beautiful and frightening.  And where she must leave her old life behind to discover who she’s meant to become…

Today, as I passed by Amanda’s book perched every so proudly on the Wal*Mart shelf, I stopped short. Where was that familiar pang of jealousy and longing? I paused to see if it needed a second to catch up with me. When it didn’t, my hand crept forward, grasped the paperback then opened it. If the first sentence of the first chapter hooks me, I thought decidedly, I’ll get it.

Here’s what I read:

Drool spilled out across my desk , and I opened my eyes just in time to hear Mr. Meade slam down a textbook.

Immediately, I realized this was going to be a good read and then a funny thing happened. All that trivial, negative crap I’d been harboring dissolved into pride and…gasp…hope.

As I write this rather unique review, I’ve come to realize the extreme difference a regimen can make. Making the decisions to meet or exceed my dailies every day has changed me for the better. I don’t approach the day with a gnawing concern that I won’t get to write because I know that I will write and I will make my quote. Every word brings me closer to the goal I want more than anything, a goal that some time ago Amanda Hocking had as well.

Switched, so far has been a blast to read. I praise Amanda on her hard work, her bumpy but extraordinary journey to success and the new-found bound she doesn’t know we share. 😉

4 comments on “Switched by Amanda Hocking

  1. i want to read this too. It looks great.

  2. I’ve had this book in my hands, but after reading some reviews on amazon, I put it back. Many of the reviews said the draft was riddled with errors and poor editing choices – I’d love to know if those issues have been resolved because it sounds like a fascinating story. I’ll be checking back to see what your opinion is of the book. 🙂

    • C.B, I can tell you this for certain. Published grammar and correct grammer aren’t always one in the same. For instances, in many books it seems they forget the FANBOYS rules all together. It’s so acceptable that when I took my writing lab class I punctuated the way I read in books, and as expected my grade was going nowhere. Fast. In most books, that first sentence (the one I quoted in my kind of review) wouldn’t have looked like that, and by that I mean 100% correct. Lol. I will be on the look out though and let you know. Thanks for reading and commenting!

What are your thoughts?

