4 Comments

The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter

The Goddess Test (Harlequin Teen)

When I picked up Switched by Amanda Hocking at Wal*Mart the other day, I also picked up this one. For whatever reason, I was very much in the mood for Goddesses and Myths, so I opened it up last night and couldn’t put it down.

The Goddess Test Blurb~ 

It’s always been just Kate and her mom—and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate’s going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear her mother won’t live past the fall.Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld—and if she accepts his bargain, he’ll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he’s crazy—until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she’ll become Henry’s future bride, and a goddess.

I was pretty stoked to get a signed copy for under ten bucks. Signed books are AWESOME! I was even more stoked when I found out the author, Aimee Carter, lives in my home state. Michigan. The characters in this book have palpable personalities which Aimee sticks to with absolutely no problem. There are some seasoned authors out there that have a hard time doing this, so I was thoroughly impressed considering this was her first published work. The sequel to The Goddess Test, Goddess Interrupted, is out now along with a novella, The Goddess Hunt, and the reviews are pretty good.

The Goddess Test was well researched, had a good pace and didn’t dawdle. For the most part. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t skim a little, but it wasn’t through any fault of the authors. It was late. I was eager to get through the mechanics of character building and on to the budding romance.

Speaking of romance, it doesn’t disappoint. Truthfully, it made me cringe a little because Henry, while super hot and very sweet, is absolutely head over heels for someone else. Our main character, Kate, knows this from the get go, but it doesn’t stop her from one day realizing that, DUH, she’s in love with him herself.

The myths were fun and well represented. Aimee’s research skills are enviable. (Makes a note to try and  be a better researcher.) Another pro for this book. Sex. Yup. You read that right. Kate does the not-so-nasty-but-oh-so-sweet with a man. Now, hold your horses ladies. Aimee does not go into detail. It’s a fade-to-black scenario, but all the stuff leading up to it is uber good. I mean, nowhere near being adult content, but sweet nonetheless.

The ending confused me a little. I won’t say why because I don’t want to spoil anything for anybody, but yeah. I was way confused. All in all, The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter was a great, fun YA paranormal read. There was action, death, love, hate. Everything you could possibly want, and if you run to Wal*Mart right now they may still have some signed copies left!

The Goddess Hunt (Goddess Test)

Goddess Interrupted (Harlequin Teen)
4 comments on “The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter

  1. I’m in a bit of a myth kick right now, too. I may have to pick this one up! 🙂

  2. I just picked this up too and got a signed copy! I’m so excited to start it. I stumbled onto your blog by accident and I have to say WOW! I love it! I’m definitely going to bookmark your page 🙂

What are your thoughts?

