21 Comments

VBT Stop #2: Kim Mutch Emerson

Today, is stop number two on the  Tasha Turner Coaching/MasterKoda Virtual Blog Tour (VBT), and I have the honor of hosting Kim Mutch Emerson. Tasha, being the brilliant mind that she is, wanted to know what song suits our novel best. Let’s see what melody best describes Kim’s soon-to-be-released YA series.

 

Da Da Da Daaah! 

Challenges – I love them. Or most of them. Okay, some of them. 

Given the challenge of comparing my upcoming series of Young Adult books to a song (the first one to be released this fall) I set out in a quest to find the perfect song. I thought, well this is easy enough because I am also a musician that loves all types of music. 

During this quest I realized there was no way to choose just one song. There are too many climaxes, too much action, too many moments of suspense and discovery for one song to say it all. And that’s when I remembered Beethoven! 

Da Da Da Daaah! 

That grand opening of his fifth symphony when we hear “Da Da Da Daaaah” “Da Da Da DAAAH”! And then it builds – you run panting – frantically looking behind you – clawing your way up a cliff – a bad guy behind every tree.  It builds and falls and builds again. You can hardly turn the page fast enough! Where will it end? Will there be victory for the five teenagers stranded on an arctic island? Will they find out why they were tossed from a perfectly good Lear Jet? Is there more to their dilemma than meets the eye seething beneath the surface? What force is out there against them? And just when we think they are safe… 

Da Da Da Daaaaaaah… 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_4IRMYuE1hI

Author, KD Emerson was born (or is that hatched) several years ago. We won’t go into how long it has been because she has this fantasy that she is still a teenager off to conquer the world. She has a passion for the written word and assisting other writers in becoming the best they can be. She also loves to promote others and cheer them on to victory. Follow her on twitter @MstrKoda or you can find her at www.masterkoda.com and on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/kimmutch.emerson

 

21 comments on “VBT Stop #2: Kim Mutch Emerson

  1. Loved it Egghead!!! 😀 I love Beethoven!!

  2. Wow…makes me think of the music from Jaws II…just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water…every time I hear da da daahh now…I will wonder what they’ve gotten into now! Great post!

  3. Kim, I can’t wait to read the books you are writing, you are an awesome writer, and I know your talent both with music and with writing from past press releases you have done so this is so exciting. Plus your choice of music to go along with your new series…that has me really excited to “hear” what this series will be all about!

  4. Funny thing, Kim, as I sat, listening to our friend Beethoven before reading this blog (per your instructions!), I thought “This is great! There is conflict, resolution, another conflict, another resolution! I love Beethoven, and Mozart, and Vivaldi and … Well, you understand! I find it easy to write with their music playing, and I totally loved this blog!

  5. I kept thinking of a ballet or something when I heard it. minds are funny things! loved the article though!

  6. Even as a young child I have enjoyed listening to Beethoven. I cannot read music, but i took piano lessons. I would sit for hours figuring out what lines and spaces each note was on, find the corresponding key on the piano and build the song piece by piece by piece. Once i got through the song, i closed the book and played by memory. It took the better part of a year to learn “A Time For Us” (Theme from Romeo and Juliet), The Linus and Lucy Song, and Fleur de lise (only the first half of that one). Try as i might though, i could not learn the one song that i hoped i could – Beethoven’s 5th Symphony. The complexity of the piece, the majestic crescendos, the movement from allegro to adagio and back again. Such a majestic piece of music – and so fitting to apply to the description of a story as you move from piece to piece, feeling each emotion in the story as you feel in the music. A very well written blog and a wonderful choice of music!

  7. Love the choice of music as well as the thickening plot of the book!!!!!!

  8. When I read that I had a quick picture in my head of a book in my hands that finally would be in sotres. You have that effect on people and hope someday I may have the same. xo good job.

  9. Loved it Kim!!!! I looooooooove Beethoven!!!

  10. For Mystique Rising I kept hearing music from Styx’s Kilroy was here album. I had to fight not to write ‘it ain’t the music that’s in question, it’s called the freedom of expression.’ I don’t need to be stuck with a label of plagiarist.

  11. now I can’t … da da da daaaah … wait to read your book, Kim

What are your thoughts?

