4 Comments

Whatchya Readin, Peggy?

This week Tasha Turner asks us writers what we’re reading right now?

Author, Peggy Browning says,

Last week I read Stephen King’s On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft.Along with other tidbits of writing advice, he stated “If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.” 

OK, Mr. King. No problem here. I make time to read EVERY SINGLE DAY.  

When I run errands, I carry a book, newspaper or magazine with me just in case there’s a wait at the car wash or the optometrist’s office or wherever I may be. 

 I choose the longest line at the grocery store just so I can thumb through People magazine while I wait, placing it back in the news stand before paying because a magazine is not in the weeklyfood budget.

I BMOB (bring my own book) because I’m anxious about getting stuck waiting somewhere for a few minutes with no good words on which to rest my eyes. 

As a child, I read in the car and on the school bus, at the supper table and in my bed. Before I wised up and started taking my story books to the bathroom with me, I read the ingredients on the back of the Lysol can while I sat on the toilet. 

Now that I’m a grown up, I keep a basket filled with good things to read… beside the stool and close to the tub… just in case Iget the urge to read while taking a bath or, while, well…you know… sitting on the pot.   

Since I bought a car with a working CDplayer, I listen to audio-books while driving.  Sometimes I continue driving around after my errands are done just to hear the next chapter. Recently I drove an extra 50 miles for no other purpose than to finish The Historian…an excellent vampire tale by Elizabeth Kostova, by the way. 

I need a variety of books around because I choose material according to mood. I usually have a couple of books started at the same time…that mood thing again. Fickle? Yes, I am. 

I like humor and memoirs, Southern sass and cozy mysteries, biographies and travel stories, home repair and gardening how-to’s, true crime and fictional crime. I like to read about different religions, different geographical regions and different cultures and ideas. 

A good story draws me to it, whether it’sfiction or non-fiction. 

So, here is my reading list for now and thenext couple of weeks: Two For the Dough by     Janet Evanovich and 1st     to Die by James Patterson, both on CD because I have a couple of road     trips ahead of me. Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind     by Ann B. Ross, because it’s a cozy mystery about a sassy Southern lady. Beautiful as Yesterday     by Fan Wu and Running the Rift     by Naomi Benaron, because they are novels about different cultures. In Our Prime: The Invention     of Middle Age by Patricia Cohen, because I’m doing some research for     my blog. The Happiness Project     by Gretchen Rubin, because I’m just curious about what she has to say.

 I can’t wait to get started. Maybe I’ll go take a bath and read a bit right now.

  Peggy Browning looks at her life afterage 50 through rose-colored bifocals. She writes about issues facing the boomercrowd with humor and wit. She has reinvented herself many times through life’sexciting adventures, varied jobs and diverse careers. She’s been a specialeducation teacher, social worker, waitress, newspaper carrier,  newspaper correspondent, fruit stand owner, nurse’saide, janitor and  writer/entrepreneur.And that’s just a few of the jobs she’s been paid to do during her first 5decades…Catch her musings about life after 50 on her blog at her website, http://fiftyodd.com, her opinion column andfeature news stories at http://pioneer-sentinel.com,and blogs at http://galtime.com and http://zestnow.com. Visit her Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Fifty-Odd/327132190645107On a personal note, I would like to thank Peggy for writing such a wonderful reply. I was reading this post in the parking lot of our Post office and it really made me think. As writers, the one thing we cannot do is put reading on the back burner. Before I had a Kindle, I didn’t bother with downloading the Kindle Ap on my phone, but today Peggy got me to see that every spare minute we have is a spare minute we could spend reading.

4 comments on “Whatchya Readin, Peggy?

  1. Peggy…I love your reading list and learning more about you. I always try to keep a book…now my Kindle…with me at all times…just in case! Thanks Jennifer for sharing your blog with Peggy today!

  2. I’m reading an Evanovich novel…love her humor! Looks like you have a lot to do this month!

What are your thoughts?

