Leave a comment

Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

This book absolutely blew my mind. I tried my damnedest not to read it right away, but in the end Gena Showalter had her way. The first five of this story are visually stimulating. The blurb was flat out gripping. For your viewing pleasure, I will include both.

Here’s the first five:

“Please, Alice. Please.”

I lay sprawled on a blanket in my backyard, weaving a daisy chain for my little sister. The sun shone brightly as puffy white clouds ghosted across an endless expanse of baby blue. As I breathed in the thick honeysuckle and lavender perfume of the Alabama summer, I could make out a few shapes. A long, leggy caterpillar.

Now, the entire blurb:

She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever. Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. Bute that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone. Her father was right. The monsters are real. To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys. Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies.

And because I loved this book so much, I’m including the back blurb as well.

I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently. I’d tell my sister no. I’d never beg my mother to talk to my dad. I’d zip my lips and swallow those hateful words. Or, barring all of that, I’d hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time. I’d tell them I love them.

I wish… Yeah, I wish.

I had only a few reservations going into this book. One, Gena Showalter enjoys switching POVs. She does it flawlessly, but sometimes it gets on my nerves and I wasn’t in the mood for a multiple perspective book. Thankfully, this book was all first person and solely from the main character, Alice (Ali) Bell’s POV. Honestly, I’m happy as a pig in, well you-know-what, that Gena Showalter chose to do it this way. The depth of Alice’s pain, of her creepy yet hopeful story would not have been as potent if written any other way.

My second reservation was the family aspect. While I appreciate what it took to drive a character to their breaking point, author’s can spend too much, or too little, time painting a catalyst picture. Because you know Alice is going to lose her family, you prepare for the fact that there’ll be pages upon pages of grief. You also prepare for the fact that any author worth their weight build up the characters she’s about to kill because, sorry to say, we all enjoy wrenching the readers guts out. While I didn’t have a huge problem with any of this, I wasn’t looking forward to it. Sometimes reading tragedy can be, again sorry to say, boring. Well, folks. Alice’s tragedy is in no way boring. It’s not drawn out or cheesy in any way. It’s the perfect amount of interaction, action, loss and moving forward.

My last reservation was, ironically, the same one that drew me to the book. Zombies. While I share Cole’s affection for the movie Zombieland, I didn’t want to read about a bunch of teens fighting typical, brain eating zombies. By the time I got to the part where Zombies were truly introduced though, I wouldn’t have cared if Gena Showalter ripped them right out of Night of the Living Dead. The characters, story, prose and pace were so good I didn’t care how cheesy the Zombies were. However, these Zombies were anything but typical and the way our characters have to fight them was superbly original.

Basically what I’m saying here is this; any reservation you think you might have is unimportant. If you are in the mood for a creepy paranormal romance that has the right amount of, well, everything, then Alice in Zombieland is the book for you. I couldn’t put it down. Read cover to cover and nearly cried when it was all over. The good news is that this is Book 1 in the White Rabbit Chronicles, so I won’t have to cry forever. YAY.

Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles)

Here’s the link to buy it: http://www.amazon.com/Alice-Zombieland-White-Rabbit-Chronicles/dp/0373210582/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1348702448&sr=8-1&keywords=alice+in+zombieland

What are your thoughts?

