Leave a comment

Fearless (King Series) by Tawdra Kandle

Special Note: I have not read this entire book, yet, but it has been downloaded onto my kindle which, in and of itself, means the First Five did impress me. (Trust me, folks. That’s not easy to do.) So, let’s give you a taste of the paragraph that convinced me to hit Download.

New girl. She doesn’t belong here. Doesn’t fit in here. Not one of us.

I jerked my head toward the sound of the voice before I realized that no one was speaking aloud. None of the students in the Chemistry classroom were paying attention to me, the new girl, standing up front at the teacher’s desk waiting for a textbook and seat assignment. I bit my lip and kept my eyes glued to the floor. This wasn’t the first time I’d mistaken someone’s thoughts for spoken words.

Okay, I realize that was more than five sentence, but these were the words I read, and you know what? They totally drew me in. Tawdra’s prose is solid and confident. My only complaint would be a serious overuse of ‘the.’ If I were Tawdra’s crit partner, I’d be screaming at her to stop double tapping that pesky word. Sometimes authors get stuck on repeat. I, myself, have a small problem with, (haha) with.  For funsies though, let’s see how this paragraph would’ve shaped up minus a few ‘thes,’ shall we?

I jerked my head toward the voice before I realized no one was speaking aloud. None of the students in Chemistry were paying attention to me standing at the teacher’s desk waiting for a textbook and seat assignment. I bit my lip and kept my eyes glued to the floor. This wasn’t the first time I’d mistaken someone’s thoughts for spoken words.

Okay. That took 8 ‘thes’ down to 5, and I do believe it flows a bit better. Now, let’s give you the book blurb, cover and link so you can download Tawdra Kandle’s book for FREE today. It’s bound to be a hit, and I can’t wait to read the rest.

BOOK BLURB ~ Tasmyn Vaughn didn’t expect much when her dad’s job moved them to a small town in Florida; it was just another new school. But there is more to King than meets the eye, and soon Tasmyn’s ability to hear others’ thoughts is the least of her worries. Entangled in a web of first love, quirky and secretive townsfolk, magic and blood rituals, she discovers the town’s secrets aren’t just bizarre, they’re deadly.
What are your thoughts?

