Leave a comment

Pure by Jennifer L. Armentrout

This novel is the second book in Jennifer’s Covenant series. I did not, I repeat did not, read the first because sometimes I find the second in a series to be the best or the one to hook me. A first book can drag and sometimes, if I’m being totally honest, I skip parts of the first to get to the second faster because I get that caught up in whatever love triangle is being built. Jennifer L. Armentrout is a wonderful author. I’ve really enjoyed her Blood Ties series and before I read Pure I devoured Obsidian; another YA series with wonderful characters and an authentic romance.

Okay, now that I’ve gushed let’s get to the first five.

I stared at the ceiling of the gymnasium, little black splotches dancing in front of me. Man, my butt hurt. No surprise, as I’d landed on it about fifty times already. The only thing not burning with pain was my face; it was on fire for an entirely different reason.

Admittedly, this doesn’t give you a great view of things to come, but Jennifer has a genuine prose that pulls you into whatever she’s writing.

I’m pretty sure she could make a bowel movement scene entertaining. Just sayin.’ 🙂

Okay, so let’s talk about the other reason I picked this book up. The reviews. Most all of them were top-notch, but what really hooked me were the comparisons to Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy. Some people complained. (There are always a few who just can’t fathom authors having similar worlds that weren’t stolen. Let me set you straight right now, while Jennifer’s world has a Vampire Academy feel, it is completely different, not stolen and, most importantly, unique. *sigh* Because, you know, in what world could anybody possibly envision more than one kind of vampire, fairy or boogeyman, right? Anyway…) Some people seemed on the verge of book worship, but that night I happened to be missing my Vamp. Academy world, so I thought to myself, self, Jennifer’s a good read. Let’s do it!

Here’s the blurb:

Being destined to become some kind of supernatural electrical outlet isn’t exactly awesome-especailly when Alexandria’s “other half” is everywhere she goes. Seth’s in her training room, outside her classes, and keeps showing up in her bedroom-so not cool. Their connection does have some benefits, like staving off her nightmares of the tragic showdown with her mother, but it has no effect on what Alex feels for the forbidden, Pure-Blooded Aiden. Or what he will do and sacrifice for her. When Daimons infiltrate the Covenants and attack students, the Gods send furies-lesser Gods determined to eradicate any threat to the Covenant and the Gods, and that includes The Apollyon… And Alex. And if that and hordes of aether-sucking monsters didn’t blow bad enough, a mysterious threat seems willing to do anything to neutralize Seth, even if that means forcing Alex into servitude or killing her. When the Gods are involved, some decisions can never, ever be undone.

I did not read this blurb before I started reading Pure. I bought it based on review alone, and let me tell ya, they weren’t wrong. I stayed up until 2AM reading this book. It was just as good, and in some aspects, better than Vampire Academy. I’m nervous about the love triangle not just because I have a team, which I do, but because I do like both male characters. That said, if my guy loses out, I’ll cry, and love every drippy minute of it. The Kindle version of Pure is only  5.99, but I suggest you buy a PB copy because it’s going to earn a place on your keeper shelf for sure.

Here’s the Amazon link to Pure: http://www.amazon.com/Pure-The-Second-Covenant-Novel/dp/0983157227/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1350786668&sr=8-4&keywords=pure

Now, because I can’t help myself here is part of my favorite scene from Pure:

The Master laughed as he twisted back to the silent girl, but then he swung around so fast I hadn’t a chance to raise my hands in defense. The fist intended for the servant ended up smashing right into my jaw. Fierce pain exploded along my face. I stumbled back into the wall. My eyes immediately filled with tears; the throbbing sent darts of dizziness through me. I held my jaw, almost certain he had broken it. And then Seth was standing in front of me, a towering inferno of fury. I don’t even know where he’d come from or how he’d gotten there so quickly. “That will be the last thing you every do,” Seth snarled.

*Another sigh.* Bet you don’t know who’s team I’m on. 😉

Stop reading my blog, and go buy this book. It’s worth every damn penny.

Pure: The Second Covenant Novel

 

What are your thoughts?

