Leave a comment

Team Human by Justine Larbalestier and Sarah Rees Brennan

I’m gonna change this up a little. Here’s Team Human’s book blurb:

Just because Mel lives in New Whitby, a city founded by vampires, doesn’t mean she knows any of the blood-drinking undead personally. They stay in their part of town; she says in hers. Until the day a vampire shows up at her high school. Worse yet, her best friend, Cathy, seems to be falling in love with him. It’s up to Mel to save Cathy from a mistake she might regret for all eternity!

On top of trying to help Cathy (whether she wants it or not), Mel is investigating a mysterious disappearance for another friend and discovering the attractions of a certain vampire wannabe. Combine all this with a cranky vampire cop, a number of unlikely romantic entanglements, and the occasional zombie, and soon Mel is hip-deep in an adventure that is equal parts hilarious and touching.

Now, I’d like to say the first five of this book are good, but they aren’t. They are awesome! Truthfully, I stopped reading after the first line. It had me hooked. I knew I would love every minute of this read based on that one, perfect sentence. A sentence that, frankly, took me right back to high school. You know, assuming my high school harbored a few pale, dentally challenged types. Which, okay, I guess maybe it did, but I’m pretty sure they didn’t drink blood. Getting back on point though, Justine and Sarah have written a fantastic novel and I wouldn’t be doing my blog justice if I didn’t rave, so here are the first five:

I wasn’t feeling very enthused about education the day the vampire came to school. Usually, since we live in Maine, it’s cold. This September, the sun was invading the sky, bright and fierce, and my best friend, Cathy, and I were hauling our bags up one of the steep streets and sweating. I was also not feeling very enthused about vampires. But I never am.

That first sentence was perfect in its simplicity. It was just enough to make the writer in me squee with appreciation while the reader part of my brain screamed I want more! That being said, I feel this book absolutely was not a waste of 7.99 and you won’t either.

http://www.amazon.com/Team-Human-Justine-Larbalestier/dp/0062089641/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1351549492&sr=8-1&keywords=team+human#_

 

What are your thoughts?

