Leave a comment

Everneath by Brodi Ashton

First, let me start by saying I haven’t read this book yet; however the first five of Everneath are worth talking about.

I was picturing his face- a boy with floppy brown hair and brown eyes- when the Feed ended.

Okay. This is a kick ass first sentence. Already I’m asking myself who is the boy and what is the feed? That kind of writing is evocative and it sells, my writer friends. It always sells.

Sentence two: At first I didn’t know what had happened.

So, now we know that he/she’s dazed by this Feed which insinuates it’s every bit as ominous as it sounded.

Sentence Three: I didn’t know where I was or why it was so dark.

This let’s us know that the character is at even more of a disadvantage as he/she is confused and semi blind.

Sentence Four:  I knew only pain inside me- the feeling that I was being drained from the inside out- had subsided, and now everything was numb.

Using the word drained implies this Feed was probably something Vampire-ish, or at least that’s where my mind goes.

Sentence Five: Maybe I no longer existed.

For the character to have this worry proves that whatever happened could have dire, perhaps life ending, consequences which in turn makes us, or maybe just me, wonder hmmm? Is this a vampire thing?

So, I haven’t started reading this book yet, but the reviews were pretty great. Let me give you a few now. These are the ones I read:

Finally, a unique new YA series!
I’m a big Greek mythology buff, so I
was intrigued when I heard about Everneath, the first book in a new YA series
that was a modern re-telling of the Persephone tale. I wasn’t sure what to
expect in terms of execution, but I hoped it would be a book worth
reading.
It was. (Written by Heather D. Gallay.)

Not your typical supernatural YA. Truly
amazing! (Written by Jessica Ball.)

At any rate, I can’t wait to start this book, but I’ve given myself a goal. Get Messy Death done, read Everneath. I won’t start it until my first round of edits is done. It’s a hell of a motivator as I can’t wait to see where Brodi Ashton’s first five sentences lead.

http://www.amazon.com/Everneath-Brodi-Ashton/dp/0062071130/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1352932295&sr=1-1&keywords=everneath

What are your thoughts?

