Leave a comment

Valkyrie Rising by Ingrid Paulson

Valkyrie Rising by Ingrid Paulson is a pretty decent book. If we were going  by stars, I’d give it a 3.5. The first five promised a whole lot and , for the most part, delivered, but I was slightly let down by the myth info dump. I read the blurb this time, so it’ll be included in this blog along with the Five Sentences that impressed. First, the words that convinced me to buy it:

Half the school came to Graham’s eighteenth birthday party. People were everywhere crowded around the pool, crawling all over the patio, and crammed onto the sofa in the family room. Even though they were within plain sight of my mother, almost everyone had added a little something to their Coke- or replaced the contents of the can altogether. That afternoon I was watching from a safe distance at the kitchen window, a whole story above the fray. I told myself I was up there to help keep the refreshments flowing, but truth be told, no one would note my absence.

It was that last sentence more than anything. It was sad and lonely and I was in the mood for an outcast-girl-comes-out-swinging book. Ingrid sells Ellie as not a weak-minded or insecure girl just accidentally oppressed, and I truly loved that part of the story. I found the events of this book somewhat predictable which made me frown because the author could’ve taken the storyline in so many more original directions. But, it wasn’t my story to tell, so I will zip it. Here’s the blurb that convinced me to read the first five:

Nothing ever happens in Norway. But at least Ellie knows what to expect when she visits her grandmother: a tranquil fishing village and long, slow summer days. And maybe she’ll finally get out from under the shadow of her way-too-perfect big brother, Graham, while she’s there.

What Ellie doesn’t anticipate is Graham’s infuriating best friend, Tuck, tagging along for the trip. Nor did she imagine boys going missing amid rumors of impossible kidnappings. Least of all does she expect that something powerful and ancient will awaken in her and that strange whispers will urge Ellie to claim her place among mythological warriors. Instead of peace and quiet, suddenly there’s a lot for a girl from L.A. to handle on a summer sojourn in Norway! And when Graham vanishes, it’s up to Ellie—and the ever-sarcastic, if undeniably alluring, Tuck—to uncover the truth about all the disappearances and thwart the nefarious plan behind them.

Deadly legends, hidden identities, and tentative romance swirl together in one girl’s unexpectedly epic coming-of-age.

The romance in this YA adventure is sweet and slow building which was an absolute plus for me. Sometimes that love-struck thing pisses me off even more than a boring info dump. This book takes it’s time getting where it needs to be; however, it’ll pick up just before your about to roll your eyes. Over all, Valkyrie Rising wasn’t bad though I doubt I’ll read it again.

What are your thoughts?

