Leave a comment

Death and the Girl Next Door by Darynda Jones

For some reason, I had a difficult time purchasing this book. I read the first five then continued on with the sample chapters, but there was an undefinable force holding me back. I wanted to click purchase on my Kindle; I figured it’d be an entertaining read, but my fingers just wouldn’t cooperate. Three days later, I found myself in a book store, on Black Friday rushing around with purpose. I had two books in mind to buy and neither of them were Death and the Girl Next Door. (They were A Trace of Moonlight by Allison Pang and Entice by Jessica Shirvington.) However, as a rounded a section of shelves, desperately searching for Entice I spotted Darynda’s book and simply could not pass it up. After finishing it, in one sitting I might add, I know why I couldn’t purchase the Kindle version. It’s because this novel belongs on my keeper shelf. Which isn’t to say I don’t have a Kindle keeper shelf too, but as an avid reader there are just some books you must own. For me, Death and the Girl Next Door is one of those. Because the category of this post is Five Sentences to Impress I will share the first five; however, I’m not going to give you the blurb. Frankly, I think blurbs give away too much half the time. Better to go in blind and discover the story.

First, the paragraph that impressed:

The small town of Riley’s Switch, New Mexico, had only one coffeehouse, so that’s where I sat with my two best friends, knowing beyond a shadow of a doubt that only two of us w ould make it out of there alive. Though I did tend to exaggerate. The fresh scent of pine from the surrounding mountains, which mingled with the rich aroma of coffee, lingered forgotten. In its place was a tense silence. It thickened the air around us.

Now, a snippet of my favorite scene:

The entire room had fallen into an eerie silence for the second time that day. Cameron wore a menacing grimace as he leaned into Jared. “That whole walking-and-carrying-a-tray-at-the-sane-time thing must really have you baffled.”

Jared smiled. He smiled… and stepped even closer. “I was walking before you were even a speck on the horizon.” Cameron’s mouth tightened. “Just making sure I had the right guy.”

“And do you?” Jared asked with raised brows.

“Oh, yeah.”

Jared closed the distance between them. Every person in the room stopped breathing. Anticipation glistened in their eyes as they waited to see what would happen next.

“You know,” Jared said in a husky whisper I could barely hear, “your heart’s beating a little fast.” His smile disappeared. “I can take care of that for you.”

As though steeling himself for some mortal blow, every muscle in Cameron’s body tensed. He clenched his fists and tightened his jaw. “Do whatever you want to me,” he said under his breath, “just stay away from Lorelei.”

Lorelei? Me? I snapped to attention. Did he just say stay away from me?

“I think you’re the one who needs to stay away from her. Stalking, Mr. Lusk, is not a pretty habit.”

Wait. How did Jared know that? How did he know Cameron had been following me? And how did I suddenly become the topic of conversation?

“You can’t have her,” Cameron said.

“Really.”

“I swear to God,” Cameron continued, his blue eyes watering with emotion, “you’ll die screaming it you try.”

Sigh. I love it! You’re not getting anymore though. Should you want more, dearies, you’ll need to be more decisive than me. BUY Death and the Girl Next Door! Darynda Jones is one hell of an author, and you can’t go wrong when purchasing a book written by ‘one hell of an author.’ LOL.

http://www.amazon.com/Death-Girl-Next-Darynda-Jones/dp/0312625200/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1353872493&sr=8-1&keywords=death+and+the+girl+next+door

What are your thoughts?

