2 Comments

Dark Passing by Liz Schulte

Liz Shulte didn’t know her calling at a young age. In fact, she didn’t always want to be an author. She wanted to be a lot of other things, but not an author. Thankfully, this wonderful, kind, helpful writer did put pen to paper and from that point on she’s been a success. Liz and I chat about what all writers love to chat about. Their work. Most recently, I asked for help on my Prowling for Demons blurb. Her friendly nudgings were essential in reminding me that the status quo doesn’t guarantee reader satisfaction.

With Messy Death nearing its final editing stages, I’ll be starting work on book two shortly. Since Liz has finally released (squee) the sequel to Dark Corners, I was desperate for her take on… 

The Dreaded Sequel

by Liz Schulte

Anytime I watch a movie or read a book I love there is always two thoughts that go through my head: I hope they make a sequel, immediately followed by, they better not make a sequel. Sequels are both exciting and scary. You liked, maybe even loved, the first, what if the writer messes everything up. But on the other hand, what if it is better than the first? Is it worth the risk of disappointment to have an opportunity to continue in this world you love?

When I wrote Dark Corners, it was intended to be a standalone. I had no plans to ever write a sequel to it. People read the book and thankfully liked it. I immediately started getting questions about whether or not there would be more from Ella. My answer was always the same, “No, it’s a standalone book.” I had put Ella through the proverbial wringer and believed she should be left alone (after all I can’t have a story without drama).

However, I was innocently driving (one of the best places for ideas) and the beginning of Dark Passing popped into my mind. I tried to ignore it, but the characters kept talking until I started listening. I wrote down the opening scene and my fingers itched to go further. It didn’t fit into my schedule right away so I let the story ferment in my mind until I could get to it. When I finally began to write, it felt right. Not only that, but suddenly an entire series came to me. The progression of Ella’s character arc seemed so clear in my mind I couldn’t believe I ever thought this was a standalone book and the Ella Reynolds series was born.

Each book will stand on its own, no cliffhangers, but Ella and friends will continue to grow and develop.

I’m so glad Ella’s story isn’t over. I was happy with how Dark Corners wrapped up, but she has so many places to go. I knew her character would develop a following, but I’m glad she was written as a stand alone story. Sometimes characters do better without all the series pressure. They develop naturally instead of being pushed, ya know? 

Dark Passing is the second in the Ella Reynolds series.

 Dark Passing (The Ella Reynolds Series)

BLURB~ Mary Nelson’s murder shocked the small town of Jackson. The vibrant, young college student disappeared on her way home. A week later her body was found in the trunk of a burning car. No suspects. No evidence. No case.
Ella Reynolds’ life had finally turned around. With a new book released, the past safely tucked away, and a burgeoning romance, she begins to live again. Then a plea from a woman whose daughter’s murder remains unsolved ignites Ella’s curiosity—and drags her back into the dark world she fought so desperately to escape.
Curiosity turns to obsession as Ella inches closer to the truth—and the murderer begins to claim new victims.
Now you see why I asked her with help on my blurb, right? This is to the point without being clipped and uber intriguing. Because I’m just that awesome I’m going to treat this post as a Friends/Five Sentences to Impress hybrid. I say all that to say I’m giving you the first five of Dark Passing!
“If I can make it through living in a haunted house with a deranged psychopath, I can make it through a date,” I muttered, staring at my computer screen. I was out of excuses. The tan I picked up on vacation had all but faded, the reconstruction of the house was done, and the book, thanks to being a hot news story, had been fast tracked to release. Gabriel had the patience of Job. He accepted all my excuses about why I couldn’t go out with him, but never stopped trying.
Liz Schulte is having a contest for a “Mystery” Themed Basket Must be 18+ US Resident Ends 1/6/13 @ 11:59PM EST Fill out the form below to Enter
Liz Schulte
Follow Liz Schulte http://www.lizschulte.com/
The first book in Liz Schulte’s Ella Reynolds series, Dark Corners, was mentioned in one of my very first blog posts. It’s under the Friends category because that is what I consider this delightful author to be. You can check it out here: https://jenniferstarks.wordpress.com/2011/06/25/liz-shulte/
Dark Corners (The Ella Reynolds Series)

2 comments on “Dark Passing by Liz Schulte

  1. Thank you so much for having me on your blog! I can’t wait to read Messy Death.

What are your thoughts?

