Leave a comment

My Life as a White Trash Zombie by Diana Rowland

 Okay, first let’s talk about the title. FREAKING AWESOME. Second, let’s talk about the cover. FREAKING AWESOME. Angel’s eyes creep me out, but in a good way. It’s perfect for the book, and Diana even gives a shout out to her cover designer for making it great. Now, let’s talk about the first five. If they don’t peak your interest, well I’m here to tell you UF isn’t your genre.

Let’s take a look at the first paragraph of the first chapter.

“You should be dead,” the ER nurse stated as she adjusted something on my IV. She was more husky than fat, with too much eye makeup, and hair that had been dyed a nasty shade of reddish orange. When I didn’t immediately respond she glanced my way, as if to assure herself that I really was awake and aware. “You realise that, right?” she demanded. “You’re pretty damn lucky to be alive.”

Diana Rowland knows how to weave in the detail. It’s never too much; never too little. I think Goldilocks would agree with me when I say her description lengths are just right. I did read a few sentences of the back cover before picking this book up, so I’m going to share it now. This book has a sequel which I haven’t read yet, but I did see the cover and it’s so fantastically wrong that I have to share it in this post as well.

Angel Crawford is a loser. Living with her alcoholic deadbeat dad in the swamps of southern Louisiana, she’s a high school dropout with a pill habit and a criminal record who’s been fired from more crap jobs than she can count. Now on probation for a felony, it seems that Angel will never pull herself out of the downward spiral life has taken. That is, until the day she wakes up in the ER after overdoing on painkillers. Angel remembers being in a horrible car crash, but she doesn’t have a mark on her. To add to the weirdness, she receives an anonymous letter telling her there’s a job waiting for her at the country morgue and that it’s an offer she doesn’t dare refuse. Before she know it she’s dealing with a huge crush on a certain hunky deputy and a bran new addiction; an overpowering craving for brains. Plus, her morgue is fulling up with the victims of a serial killer who decapitates his prey- just when she’s hungriest! Angel’s going to have to grow up fast if she wants to keep this job and stay in one piece. Because if she doesn’t, she’s dead meat. Literally.

I haven’t finished the book to-date, but I started it last night and plan on finishing up this evening. So far, it’s been a wonderful ride. I have all of Diana Rowland’s Demon books and am pleased to say this series already has me craving brai- wait. No. I meant to say this series already has me craving more installments. Yeah. That’s it. 😉 Here are the covers and links to both Angel Crawford books.

Live. Write. Read.

My Life as A White Trash ZombieEven White Trash Zombies Get the Blues

 

http://www.amazon.com/My-Life-White-Trash-Zombie/dp/0756406757/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1356121197&sr=8-1&keywords=white+trash+zombie

http://www.amazon.com/Even-White-Trash-Zombies-Blues/dp/0756407508/ref=pd_bxgy_b_img_y

 

What are your thoughts?

