Leave a comment

Ascend by Amanda Hocking

So, if you haven’t already guessed I totally read the entire Trylle series, and guess what? I freaking loved it. I would love to share why I loved it, but that would give too many things away. To satisfy any curiosity you may have, let me say this: FINALLY the girl ends up with the guy I was actually rooting for. Ascend is a beautifully written book. Perhaps, the best in the series. Hocking’s emotional depth makes it to the page in a more profound way then it ever did before. Wendy faces a lot in this book, as she should. This is the finale. People want closure and a happy (adjacent) ending. Well, we get it. And then some. The Trylle series was bittersweet for me. Hard to start; harder to stop. Amanda Hocking has my respect as not only a (soon to be) author but also a die-hard reader. She’s worth her weight in gold and entertainment. Here’s a snippet from chapter nineteen:

“I don’t know, Wendy.” Tove shook his head. “I don’t want you to die, but I don’t know what else to say to you.”

“I know.” I sighed. “That’s where I’m at too.”

Tove sat on the chest at the end of our bed, and I stood in front of him, chewing on my thumbnail. We were both still in pajamas, and I wasn’t sure how well either of us had slept the night before. I woke him early in the morning, when it was still dark out, and immediately began asking him what he thought I should do about Elora’s painting.

“You still don’t know how to kill the King.” Tove pointed out. “And you did promise him our kingdom when you were Queen.”

“I won’t be Queen if I’m with him.”

“But he won’t let that slide,” Tove said. “Even if you got to him, he might reject you simply because he wants the kingdom.”

“I can tell him that you all booted me out when you found out my plan to combine with the Vittra.” I said. “Then he’ll have me.”

“But he still wants the kingdom,” Tove said. “He’ll still come after it, even if he has you. At best, you’re postponing the inevitable.”

“Maybe so,” I admitted. “But if that’s the best I can do, then that’s what I have to do.”

“But what then?” Tove asked, staring up at me. “What happens after the King has you?”

“You’ll become Trylle King,” I said. “You’ll protect our people.”

“So that’s it?” Tove asked. “You’ll go and I’ll stay?”

I nodded. “Yes.”

Does this section deliver the emotions I mentioned earlier? No, but I needed you to see how truly, deeply complicated things are for poor Wendy. At any rate, this series is worth the read. I’ve never been more satisfied with an ending or who a main character has chosen as he permanent squeeze in a long time. Love triangles are tricky bitches. You have to play them right or people get pissed. In the case of Ascend, you won’t be disappointed. I’m giving you the amazon link. And, as always…

Live. Write. Read.

Product Details

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=ascend

What are your thoughts?

