2 Comments

Let’s Talk Buts!

If you’re currently singing ‘I like big butts and I cannot lie; you other brothers can’t deny when a girl walks in with an itty, bitty waste and a round thing in your face you get,-‘ than I applaud you. However, we’re not talking about those kind of butts. We’re talking about that connecting FANBOYS we all rely heavily on from time to time. (FANBOYS for those of you who need a refresher are For, And, Nor, But, Or, Yet, So. http://grammar.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/conjunctions.htm)

 

What do you, writers, feel is an appropriate amount of Buts per chapter. While editing Messy Death, I carefully review FANBOYS to make sure they are used correctly and not in abundance. While editing chapter ten, which is holding steady at 5,368 words, I originally found 39. I have whittling those buts down to 27 and am not sure I can do much better.

In truth, I do not feel they are over used, but (hehe) I was wondering what my peers ‘but’ (hehe) count was per chapter.

Should I be worried this number is too high?

Should you be worried your ‘but’ number is too high?

Let’s talk it out, peeps. I’m eager to know what you think.

2 comments on “Let’s Talk Buts!

  1. I sadly use them way too much. But and And are staples in my writing. I am sure my editor is going to have a migraine after she’s done with it. I honestly don’t know how many is too many.

What are your thoughts?

