6 Comments

The Sunshine Award!

First off, I have to thank Leakan for nominating me for this award.

Sunshineaward

It was such a nice surprise. Her debut novel, The Things They Didn’t Bury, is currently free on Amazon.com and doing extremely well with nearly a full five-star review rating! Congrats.

The blogs I’ve nominated below are written by some fabulous people who captivate me for many different reasons. Their knowledge, wisdom, keen interests, fluent writing and hilarious opinions motivate me to do better, try harder and never settle.

The Rules
  • Include the award’s logo in a post or on your Blog. You can make your own if you’d like.
  • List 10 things about yourself
  • Nominate 10 Bloggers
  • Link your nominees to the post and comment on their blogs, letting them know they were nominated.
  • Link the person who nominated you.
Ten Things About Jennifer Minshall-Starks:
1) I have a thing about open cupboard doors. Seriously. It drives me insane. CLOSE THEM!
2) I have been working on a YA novel about Werewolves for nearly thirteen years. The first draft still isn’t complete.
3) There are only about three or four days when I actually enjoy being outside. The sun and I have a love/hate relationship. Mainly hate.
4) I will not eat meatloaf. I don’t care that it’s just a rectangular burger. YUCK.
5) Taking pictures relaxes me more than writing.
6) Speaking of writing, I always have my ‘ah-ha’ ideas in the bathtub. You know, when it’s totally inconvenient to write them down. :-/
7)  Walking into a book store that smells like coffee always makes me smile.
8) I’ve read Karen Marie Moning’s Fever Series at least four times in the past two years. I’m slightly obsessed. She’s brilliant.
9) Speaking of great authors, I only just (as in this year) discovered how insanely great Kresely Cole is. WTH took me so long, right? LOL
10) Every time my husband kisses me, I get light headed. (And it has nothing to do with a lack of oxygen 😉 )

*Leakan decided to change the rules a bit and I’m towing her line. Different variations on the instructions for this award say to list ten things about yourself, answer ten questions, etc. I’ve decided to include both for my nominees. I know many of you, like me, tend to stick to talking about your writing on your blog. But please feel free to take this as an opportunity to share a little more about yourselves! Can’t wait to read the responses!

  1. What is your first reading memory? I recall getting the book Catwings by Ursula K. Le Guin.

The book was sad but also so imaginative that it has stuck with me all these (not that many, I swear) years.

2. If you never had to work another day in your life how would you spend an average day? Writing. Editing. Reading. Being a mommy. It’s all the stuff I do now, and believe me it is still work!

3. What’s your definition of success? Knowing people enjoy my stories, root for my characters and are excited to see a book with my name on the cover. Money is important. I know it makes the world go round and I’d love to have boatloads of it, but I can buy the kind of loyal readership truly great authors have. None of us can. It has to be earned. My success is knowing I’ve earned it.

4. Why did you start blogging? It was a healthy, creative way for me to promote indie authors/friends, review books honestly and (hopefully) create a base readership for my debut novel, Messy Death.

5. What’s your favorite thing about blogging? Getting it out there. Putting the words down, editing them then hitting that publish button brings me a sense of pride and accomplishment. Somedays, it’s a little like finishing a book and that is a feeling that never grows old.

6. What are five things you can’t live without? My family, books, my laptop, phone and caffeine.

7. What are five things you would prefer to live without? Errands, bills, bugs, laundry (I’d prefer an endless supply of always clean clothes) and about thirty pounds of unwanted fat. LOL.

8. What’s your favorite thing about yourself? My motivation. It stalls out once in a great while, but for the most part it never fails me.

9. What’s the secret to your happiness? I don’t have a secret. When I’m miserable, I wallow for a little while and then I get up and make a plan to change things.

10 ) If you could change one thing about the world what would it be? That’s a really hard question because there are so many things that need to be changed. Um. Hmmmm? Well, currently I have very strong opinions on homelessness, so I would start there. Everyone deserves a home.

6 comments on “The Sunshine Award!

  1. Thank you so much for the nomination! 🙂

    (I don’t like open cupboards, either. What is up with that??)

  2. Thank you so much!! And I too love walking into a book store and smelling coffee…. must be a writer thing. 🙂

  3. Jennifer! I’m so pleased to “meet” you–enjoyed your answers to these questions immensely.

    I’m flattered by your nomination (and even happier that you enjoy my blog). It may take me awhile to post my response to this little bit of sunshine, as I’ve been swamped–but I will eventually.

    Happy writing to you!

    p.s. I also love bookstores that smell like coffee, hate open cupboard doors, and generally have good levels of motivation and follow through. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

