Leave a comment

Messy Death on bookstore shelf!

I am not embarrassed to say that it’s taken me a little while to gain the courage to promote my debut novel, Messy Death, in the “real” world. It’s a huge undertaking. Especially after all the work that went in to making it available via internet bookstores.

Some may ask, why? Why did it take me so long to promote my baby after busting writer butt to promote it online?

The answer is simple.

I was drained. Emotionally. Mentally. The process took more out of me than I realized.

Not because self-pubbing is SUPER hard but because a lot goes into it. Every author friend I’ve talked to gave wonderful, detailed accounts of their experiences, but accounts cannot fully prepare  a newbie writer for reality. To be far, 2013 was a ‘messy’ year for me personally, so some tasks may have seemed more trying than they actually were.

I say all this to say that I had all the encouragement I needed from family, friends and community. Messy Death was well received and enjoyed which, as any writer knows, is not half the battle. It’s damn near all of it. (If you’ve been thoroughly entertained by our book, we feel loved/accomplished. End of story, lol)

After some prodding, and headway on the next ‘messy’ installments, confidence crept inside. Of course confidence got a hearty nudge from fate. My mother, who has recently become obsessed with author Nalini Singh, ordered one of her novels from an independently owned bookstore in nearby Gaylord, MI. My mother, God bless her lazy soul, asked me if I would pick it up for her the next time I visited that area.

Like any great daughter, I put it off.

More than once. LOL.

Eventually, after a slight tiff over morning coffee, I felt the need to make nice. While I was there, I perused the Indie shelf and something inside me just…knew. It was time. I was ready. So what if nobody ever purchased a single copy. So what if the bookstore owner hated every word. Seeing my book, my hard work and effort, on that shelf was worth the risk. The feeling of accomplishment was worth the risk.

So, I put myself to work and now I’m proud to say that if you live or visit the Gaylord Michigan area you can find my book on the shelves of Saturn Bookstore. Their copies are signed and priced exactly as they are here, on my blog. (Ten whole dollars!)

If you can’t visit this hidden treasure in person, click here and have a look around! You won’t regret it!

What are your thoughts?

