Leave a comment

Blog Tour: The Writing Process

For this post, I’m participating in a tour where I answer four questions about the writing process. I was supposed to have this done two Monday’s ago, but entertaining sort of got in the way. (Okay. Not entertaining so much as the cleaning that comes beforehand. Seriously. I need a maid. And an assistant. Stat!)

Now that I’m done daydreaming, let’s get on with it. Question # one:

1) What am I working on?
Answer: Currently, I am finishing the first draft of my short story Messy Victory, an Emon Nowl short. This will be released before Messy Life, the sequel to Messy Death. My plan is to release a short story between each Vira Silk novel. Every short will feature characters from Vira’s first adventure.

2) How does my work differ from others in its genre?
Answer: I think my work differs because I differ. My experiences; my mind; my personality. These are all things that play a huge role in how my prose will affect readers. The rule of thumb for aspiring authors will always be read, read, read. When you’re done doing that, read some more. Writers absorb what they love, but, contrary to popular belief, they do not absorb style or talent. These things come from a genuine desire to achieve literary greatness. Or something kinda close. 🙂

3) Why do I write what I write?
Answer: I write what I write because it inspires me. There’s something extremely liberating about urban fantasy in that I, the writer, can layer my world with whatever creepy crawlies I want. Romance is a must because the drama creates itself. Plus, the pay off doesn’t have be in the form of a happily-ever-after and that totally appeals to my masochistic side.

4) How does my writing process work?
Answer: My writing process is best described as organized chaos. Sometimes I have the entire book plotted with specific scenes pre-written. Other times, I wing it. I have failed as many times as I have succeeded using each technique, but truth be told plotting has always seemed easier.

Olivia Hardin tagged me for this post. I’m going to tag Elizabeth Sogard, Stephanie Nelson, Jamie Salisbury and Tiffany King! Good luck, ladies!

What are your thoughts?

