4 Comments

First Five: Angel Unborn by Andris Bear.

This FREE Kindle read hasn’t been read all the way through, however it has made it to my TBR “pile.” (ToBeRead)

I’m going to give you the link and the back cover blurb PLUS my review of Andris Bear’s First Five Sentences. So without further ado: 

bear

Angel Unborn by Andris Bear:

Had your fill of Vampires and werewolves? Prefer your immortal warriors with a bit more legend? Jump into the Deadly Sins paranormal romance series with ANGEL UNBORN! It’s FREE for a limited time! 

Hell has literally come to Earth for one mortal and what’s worse, she is expected to leave behind all hope for a family of her own to stand in defense of humanity against the darkest forces of Hell. But when Satan offers her the normal life she covets, Joey must decide if the price of mankind’s salvation is worth her own damnation. 
Strong-willed Joey Benton is the half-mortal child of an angel with heavenly powers. She has no knowledge of her heritage or the power running through her veins until she meets a handsome stranger who forces her to question her life and the world around her. And she quickly becomes a key player in a battle that will define a victory for Heaven or Hell. 
Ursus, a sexy Archangel, doesn’t want the responsibility of another charge, especially when Joey is so defiant. Protecting her from Hell might very well be the biggest challenge of his immortal life. But when his feelings for Joey get in the way of his duty, it’s a challenge he refuses to lose. 

***For a limited time, you can get a Deadly Sins Novelette, Angel Redeemed, for free – click here to find out more > www.andrisbear.com (just copy and paste into your browser)*** 

Now, the First Five. I will review sentence by sentence.  

1) My high heels made a steady click on the sidewalk as I left the doctor’s office, relieved by my test results. 

Okay, so right here I’m happy that the character’s POV is first person. It IS my favorite POV. Also, she’s relieved by some test results. This immediately peaks my interest. Is the main character sick? How’s that going to work? Will it play into the plot? These are all great questions to be asking at this point. Good job Andris. Good job, indeed.

2) The neurologist had slapped a file into my hand, looked me dead in the eye, and forced his pudgy cheeks into a smile.

Solid second sentence. The news was good. For now.

3) “Joey Benton, you’ve got a healthy, happy brain.”

Again, the news is good. Now we know the main character’s name. YAY!

4) He then ran on about what the results of my CT scan actually meant.

Now we know what kind of doctor this character is seeing and what test results have come back. 

5) Long story short-not a bleed or tumor in sight.

This tells us how serious things could be. Sort of. This is good stuff. I’m tempted to give you more sentences, but I’m sleepy tonight and if you are anything like me you’re already interested in reading more, so go download the book and enjoy yourself a FREE paranormal, romance. To date, I haven’t finished this book, but I’m going to go to bed and read right now! Thanks for the read Andris Bear.

 

4 comments on “First Five: Angel Unborn by Andris Bear.

  1. I love your take on the first five!!!

  2. UPDATE, 7-5-2016: I’ve finished Angel Unborn. It was a satisfying read. The pace was spot on. The end was PERFECT! I’ve never thought to end a novel that way, but it definitely works. Thank you again Andris Bear. Your book was absolute fun.

What are your thoughts?

