1 Comment

FIRST FIVE: Fugly by Mimi Jean Pamfiloff

Okay. Anybody who reads my blog even a little, meaning to scan but not commit, knows that I LOVE this author. Mimi Jean Pamfiloff is one of my FastFaves! (This may be a new Category I hope to be introducing soon. I hope to be doing an interview with Mimi in the near future. *HINT, HINT* She is a humble, talented, entertaining, funny author and she produces like I wish I could right now.

With a title like FUGLY, I’ll admit; I was skeptical. After reading the blurb/review premise, I was even more so. The thing is…. FUGLY is a .99 cent read, people. How many of us have spent a buck on something far less appealing or entertaining? Plus, it’s sexy comes in the middle of some very unexpected moments, and I LOVED that.

Without further ado, here’s the blurb: 

 

UGLY IS IN THE EYE OF THE BEHOLDER…
My name is Lily Snow. I am twenty-five years old, and despite being born with an unattractive face, I have never doubted who I am: smart, driven, and beautiful on the inside.

Until I met Maxwell Cole.

He’s handsome, excessively wealthy, and the owner of Cole Cosmetics. It’s been my dream to work for this man for as long as I can remember. The good news is he wants to hire me. The bad news is he wants me for all the wrong reasons. Ugly reasons.

In exchange, he’s offered me my dreams on a silver platter. The job. The title. A beautiful future. But this man is as messed up and ugly as they come on the inside. I’m not sure anyone can help him, and he just might take my heart down with him.
(STAND ALONE NOVEL- MATURE AUDIENCES ONLY)

And here we go with:

screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-1-27-33-pm

     1) They say that beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Thoughts: Solid, common knowledge start. We know it’s gonna go UGLY, so we’re on board already.

     2) And while I can’t argue with that, I can say the same holds true for ugly.

Thoughts: This is the character’s opinion, and so far I like it as well as agree.

3&4) Especially in my case. I used to think I was beautiful—on the inside, anyway—and he was the monster.

Thoughts: We know right off that the MC thinks she’s ugly on the outside, beautiful on the inside. We also know that the opposite is being said about the beauty; who is a HE. Interesting…

     5) A horrible, unscrupulous, arrogant prick hiding behind the face of a bona fide, modern-day sex god. CEO, model, a man who had everything.

Thoughts: I may not agree with the mechanical set-up of this line, but it hits home. The “beauty” our MC is referring to is hot. Rich. And the words, “sex-god” don’t hurt either. He’s a man’s, man, and I want to know more. 

Now, under normal circumstances I would share more, but seriously? This is a .99 cent read. If you’re not intrigued; if you don’t already love this author (like me,) then I don’t know what else to say. Fugly is a great, quick little read that will have you buying the sequel. I guarantee! 

 

One comment on “FIRST FIVE: Fugly by Mimi Jean Pamfiloff

  1. […] book is a follow-up to Fugly, which was an earlier First Five review. I don’t have a set formula for how I write these posts. I just let them take me where […]

What are your thoughts?

