Leave a comment

Born in Fire (Fire and Ice Trilogy Book 1) by K.F. Breene: First Five

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 9.08.11 PM

BLURB~

Supernatural Bounty Hunter isn’t the sort of thing you see on LinkedIn. But with a rare type of magic like mine, I don’t have many options.

So dangerous or not, the job is mine. And it was going fine, until an old as sin vampire stole my mark, and with it, my pay day.

Knowing I’m poor and desperate, he has offered me a job. I’ll have to work by his side to help solve a top secret case.

Everyone knows not to trust vampires. Especially a hot elder vampire. But without any other jobs coming up, I’m stuck. As I uncover a web of lies and treachery, revealing an enemy I didn’t know existed, the truth of my identity is threatened. I might make it out alive, only to end up in a gilded cage.

On Sale for a Limited Time!!
SENTENCE ONE: The sticky-sweet night embraced me like a satisfied lover.
THOUGHTS: Because I’ve already read the First Five, this sentence thrills me. It gives me an even deeper look, and feel, for the place it’s about to describe. My initial thought, however, was: bit overdone, but eh. Not shitty.
SENTENCE TWO: Raucous laughter crowded in close as people strolled up Bourbon Street with their green plastic drink holders fashioned after grenades. 
THOUGHTS: Oh man! I WAS THAT PERSON! Wandering the streets with a huge grenade drink. Mmmmm. So good. This sentence not only TOOK me back to NOLA, but it also made me want a drink. LoL. 
SENTENCE THREE: A little girl broke away from her parents and ran toward me, stopping much too close and snatching a string of pink beads off the street. 
THOUGHTS: I didn’t get any beads from NOLA that I can remember. Lucky girl. 😉
SENTENCE FOUR: She looked up at me with clear blue eyes sparkling with excitement. 
THOUGHTS: Of course she’s excited. She got herself some beads and didn’t even have to “work” for them. LoL.
SENTENCE FIVE: “Pink is my favorite color!”
THOUGHTS: Well…um…pink is obviously her favorite color. O_0 Duh.
BONUS SENTENCES: 
I stared back at her, struck mute. Only the naive would pluck beads off Bourbon Street. There was no telling what sweaty chest those had been on. I didn’t want to kill her dreams, though. She was so excited as she stood there, clutching the plastic string in a small fist.
THOUGHTS: Well. I’m loving everything I read so far. K.F. Breene really seems to know her stuff and the fact that this read is FREE for a limited time only should motivate anybody who enjoys a good FREE read to download this puppy now. Born in Fire is the first of three books, so go ahead. Get invested! It’s FREE!
What are your thoughts?

