Leave a comment

Demon Ember (Resurrection Chronicles Book 1) by M.J. Haag and Becca Vincenza: First Five.

Screen Shot 2017-07-08 at 8.25.12 PM

 

BLURB~~

Mya’s world is falling apart. After a series of earthquakes, deadly animals with glowing red eyes begin attacking people and start the spread of a zombie-like plague. Safety is just a memory as she tries to make her way home. When a different creature attacks the people helping her reach Oklahoma City, Mya is sure she’ll never see the light of another day.

Despite his eerie yellow eyes and very sharp teeth, the grey-skinned creature is more intelligent and humanlike than he first appears. He’s determined to keep Mya by his side and protect her from the new world’s dangers. When his path starts taking her further away from home, she must choose between safety and her family.

**Recommended for mature readers
***Part 1 of 3

SENTENCE ONE: I leaned back in my chair and rubbed my eyes.

THOUGHTS: None. LoL.

SENTENCE TWO: “What is the point of math?” I asked.

THOUGHTS: I’ve thought this exact same thing. SO MANY TIMES.

SENTENCE THREE: My roommate laughed behind me.

THOUGHTS: …none. Again.

SENTENCE FOUR: “The point is to separate the wheat from the chaff, Mya. The weak give up and drop out.”

THOUGHTS: Not sure what they are talking about here, but okay.

SENTENCE FIVE: I spun in my chair to look at her.

THOUGHTS: I’m getting a college vibe.

MORE SENTENCES: Our desks occupied a corner of our dorm room just outside the shared bathroom. Not the ideal location, but it freed up the space under our loft beds for a couch and TV. “I think I proved myself by making it through the first year. I need a break. Do you mind if I turn on the TV?” As roommates went, Kristin wasn’t bad. Our personalities blended well since both of us were fairly mellow. “Go ahead. I’ll put in headphones.” I flopped down on the couch but hesitated to turn on the TV.

THOUGHTS: This was the FIRST Melissa Haag and Becca Vincenza book I read and it was ridiculously great. Heart pounding. Sexy. Romantic. Literally could NOT put the iphone down all night. Who knew aliens were sexy, but HELL YEAH. I can’t WAIT for book two. Best of all, Demon Ember is $.99!!

There are some seriously funny parts in this book, readers. Example, Mya tries to get a big ole Alien to wear pink flower sunglasses. Also, the first meeting between Drav and Mya is so uncomfortable and awkward. I won’t spoil it, but sniffing was involved. EVERYWHERE. *snort* This book is intense, scary, fun and romantic in weird ways. It will hook you for the entire night. I was so disappointed that there weren’t more books out yet, but it gives me something to look forward to, right? Do yourselves a favor, and buy this read. Money well spent.

What are your thoughts?

