THE GROVE: THE LEGEND OF TENA BOOK 1 BY KARRI THOMPSON: FIRST FIVE© REVIEW

~~~DISCLAIMER~~~~  

THIS REVIEW IS BASED ON THE FIRST FIVE© SENTENCES OF THIS BOOK, THE GROVE BY KARRI THOMPSON. FREE AS OF 6/10/2024. AS ALWAYS, THIS REVIEW IS BASED ON MY, JENNIFER STARKS, OPINION OF THE FIRST FIVE© SENTENCES OF THIS BOOK.

~~~~~~~~ FIRST FIVE© SENTENCES ~~~~~~~~

Sentence One: A chill crawled up my spine, tightening the muscles in my neck as I froze, listening.

THOUGHTS: This instantly gives me ACOTAR vibes. YAY!

Sentence Two: Beneath the light of the full moon, the forest was visible, even at midnight.

THOUGHTS: Giving even more ACOTAR vibes and I’m here for it.

Sentence ThreeA sugar maple, spellbound by the wind, wagged its upper limb until a smaller branch tore from its trunk and teetered to the ground.

THOUGHTS: Great imagery. The outside location gives just enough tension to make a reader anxious. The stated time also creates drama as well as PROMISED DRAMA. I’m digging this FIRST FIVE©.

Sentence Four: I stepped forward, my heartbeat strong.

THOUGHTS: Short & to the point. Helps the tension along. Paints a good, physical, picture. Keeps fast pace. There is nothing bad about this opener. At all. ❤

Sentence Five: The trees stirred in unison as if sap pulsed through their stiff veins by means of a wooden heart.

THOUGHTS: The lyrical nature of this picturesque FF© conclusion is the exact nudge readers need to stay immersed and hooked.

FINAL THOUGHTS: This FREE read made it to my TBR. Not sure when I’ll get to it, but rest assured I will update a star review on here and TT.

Published by Jennifer Starks

I am a woman who delights in the journey of a good book. I write because it makes me whole. I read because it takes me away, and I live a happy life because who has time to be miserable? I write Adult and Young Adult Paranormal and Urban Fantasy Romances. I read a bit of everything. I LIVE (with and talk about) my life with Multiple Sclerosis and chronic Lyme Disease. My journey is MESSY, but my "will is as strong as yours."

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.