FREAKS OF HONOR BY HOLLY DUNWALL: FIRST FIVE©

~~~DISCLAIMER~~~~  

THIS REVIEW IS BASED ON THE FIRST FIVE© SENTENCES OF THIS BOOK, FREAKS OF HONOR BY HOLLY DUNWALL. FREE AS OF TODAY, 6/21/2024. AS ALWAYS, THIS REVIEW IS BASED ON MY, JENNIFER STARKS, OPINION OF THE FIRST FIVE© SENTENCES OF THIS BOOK.

~~~~~~~~ FIRST FIVE© SENTENCES ~~~~~~~~

Sentence One: “Why is this part of Neros always bloody raining?”

THOUGHTS: I love a read that starts with action dialogue. This sentence is ALSO telling the reader that the character is outdoors & wet. Great info for, literally, sentence one! A+.

Sentence Two: Maven Blackwood let out a dramatic groan, her displeasure for the weather reverberating through the dense forest.

THOUGHTS: Okay. We have a character name and a peek of their personality. The amount of info readers have is…impressive. Really loving this opener. There’s action, tension, dialogue, promised drama, movement, location and engaged senses. A+ again.

Sentence Three: Why couldn’t the sun have stayed shining and warm by the time they got to the forest?

THOUGHTS: IMO? This sentence is clunky & stunts flow. I would recommend a revision. For sure. Something that kept the info and pace, but that’s just me.

Sentence Four: Now, she was soaked to the bone.

THOUGHTS: This detail keeps the flow going while touching the readers five senses one more time. Not bad.

Sentence Five: And the mud!

THOUGHTS: Our MC is unhappy and that’s important because it allows the reader to identify with a soured mood. Nobody enjoys being uncomfortable, and 9 times out of 10? Discomfort leads to a negative attitude, and that requires reader grace to look past…things. It’s a balancing act. The more you let the reader in? The more the reader will understand. This was a great opener and one that is, for sure, deserving of a download.

FINAL THOUGHTS: Download & read ASAP!

Published by Jennifer Starks

I am a woman who delights in the journey of a good book. I write because it makes me whole. I read because it takes me away, and I live a happy life because who has time to be miserable? I write Adult and Young Adult Paranormal and Urban Fantasy Romances. I read a bit of everything. I LIVE (with and talk about) my life with Multiple Sclerosis and chronic Lyme Disease. My journey is MESSY, but my "will is as strong as yours."

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.